Best Joomla Host

logo

MyHosting Review http://www.joomlahostingreviews.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/4a/47/6a/myhosting-300-82-1353094149.png

$4.84

My Hosting

User Rating: 8.9

Review by Steven Johnson
Written: April 20, 2011
Updated: December 13, 2012
 
Write Review

ProsMyhosting has 15 years hosting experience with 150,000 customers in 170 countries.

Consslow servers and unreliable

Bottom LineMyHosting is an experienced hosting company with 15+ years in web hosting. Customers have complained about slow speeds and unresponsive websites.

GO
Learn More at myhosting

User reviews

14 reviews

 
(10)
 
(3)
5-7 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
1-3 stars
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
8.9
 
9.2  (14)
 
8.8  (14)
 
8.8  (14)
 
8.7  (14)
View most helpful
Ratings (the higher the better)
Site Speed & Uptime
How fast and how much time are there servers up?
Control Panel Features
Is the control panel easy to navigate? How useful are the features provided?
Customer Support
How responsive and quick is Customer Support?
Price
In regards to the money spent each month how well is your money spent?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
Please enter the security code.
myhosting.com is excellent! Especially the guidance of their kind live chat operators. And 7x24 support with telephone or live chat or ticket is also unbelievably fast, accurate and kind! And again unbelievably it is free! I couldn't believed it at the live chat that it will be effective this much and I wasn't expecting a good team with technical knowledge as this much with free service! I made a call to toll free phone, expressed my question and when I reached home, it was SOLVED! I am really glad and the most important is very much PEACEFUL that I transferred to myhosting.com! I hope this kind and express good support never ends some day. I recommend every one myhosting.com!
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.5

myhosting.com is excellent!

Overall Rating: 9.9 out of 10
Reviewed by: Burak Tibet
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: 3 months to 1 year
Reviewed on: February 14, 2013

Full Review

myhosting.com is excellent! Especially the guidance of their kind live chat operators. And 7x24 support with telephone or live chat or ticket is also unbelievably fast, accurate and kind! And again unbelievably it is free! I couldn't believed it at the live chat that it will be effective this much and I wasn't expecting a good team with technical knowledge as this much with free service! I made a call to toll free phone, expressed my question and when I reached home, it was SOLVED! I am really glad and the most important is very much PEACEFUL that I transferred to myhosting.com! I hope this kind and express good support never ends some day. I recommend every one myhosting.com!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I know more often than not myhosting.com likely hear user complaints and while I have had a few issues in the past, I have to say I have NEVER been more satisfied with the service the past year. I just wanted to congratulate all of myhosting.com team for a job well done in maintaining the overall service and user experience.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Never been more satisfied with the service

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Dustin H.
Experience Level: Joomla Expert
Reviewed on: February 06, 2013

Full Review

I know more often than not myhosting.com likely hear user complaints and while I have had a few issues in the past, I have to say I have NEVER been more satisfied with the service the past year. I just wanted to congratulate all of myhosting.com team for a job well done in maintaining the overall service and user experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Setting up a new domain, customer service helped me get CLASSIC working. They were very helpful.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Ease of use with classic service.

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Paul Hubbard
Reviewed on: November 27, 2012

Full Review

Setting up a new domain, customer service helped me get CLASSIC working. They were very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have never had any issues with myhosting.com any time I need to change something, or adjust something, everything works as it should. Haven't had contact with anyone from Customer Support for quite some time.
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Price 
 
8.0

everything works

Overall Rating: 8.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Dave Breaux
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: January 23, 2012

Full Review

I have never had any issues with myhosting.com any time I need to change something, or adjust something, everything works as it should. Haven't had contact with anyone from Customer Support for quite some time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I don't use a lot of services, but the main thing for me is that I have never had problems that demanded extra time & attention or technical expertise that I don't have. Everything was very easy.
Overall rating 
 
8.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Price 
 
8.0

Very Good

Overall Rating: 8.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: ken mayer
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: January 17, 2012

Full Review

I don't use a lot of services, but the main thing for me is that I have never had problems that demanded extra time & attention or technical expertise that I don't have. Everything was very easy.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Great product, although my experience with customer support has not been fruitful and is becoming frustrating. I have been shifted around to several customer support representatives trying to add a sub-domain that can be linked to my SmugMug account and am being taken in circles with know one able to fulfill my simple and straight forward request. They seem to be doing what they think I need instead of what I directly ask and since I cannot successfully edit my own C Name I am reliant upon them.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
8.0

Great product

Overall Rating: 9.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Curry Kinyon
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: January 11, 2012

Full Review

Great product, although my experience with customer support has not been fruitful and is becoming frustrating. I have been shifted around to several customer support representatives trying to add a sub-domain that can be linked to my SmugMug account and am being taken in circles with know one able to fulfill my simple and straight forward request. They seem to be doing what they think I need instead of what I directly ask and since I cannot successfully edit my own C Name I am reliant upon them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
myhosting is reliable, consistent and responsive. simple expectations that are met on a yearly basis. Customer support response time is very timely. Only once in the 10 or so years that I've worked with them have I been disappointed. I greatly appreciated the assistance moving to live support vs. simply e-mail.

Overall rating 
 
8.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
8.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Price 
 
8.0

reliable, consistent and responsive.

Overall Rating: 8.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Sierra Veale
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: December 16, 2011

Full Review

myhosting is reliable, consistent and responsive. simple expectations that are met on a yearly basis. Customer support response time is very timely. Only once in the 10 or so years that I've worked with them have I been disappointed. I greatly appreciated the assistance moving to live support vs. simply e-mail.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Over the years I´ve had over 3 different websites. In each and every one of them my service was uninterrupted and extremely reliable. Reliability and trust are the keywords.
Overall rating 
 
9.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
8.0

I´m a happy camper

Overall Rating: 9.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Juan Carlos Calderón
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 30, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Over the phone and online support, the customer service team is very friendly and professional. =)

Full Review

Over the years I´ve had over 3 different websites. In each and every one of them my service was uninterrupted and extremely reliable. Reliability and trust are the keywords.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I am very satisfied and pleased with my many years of myhosting web hosting experience. Not only have I hosted my own site, but have both recommended and set up sites for friends and family on myhosting. It has always been trouble free and mostly self-explanatory through the excellent web tools provided. The price is right for the excellent features offered.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
8.0

Everything always works

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Scott Spooner
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 15, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
myhosting reps have always been helpful. Customer service has always been a pleasant experience, although rarely needed, since everything always works
Cons
n/a

Full Review

I am very satisfied and pleased with my many years of myhosting web hosting experience. Not only have I hosted my own site, but have both recommended and set up sites for friends and family on myhosting. It has always been trouble free and mostly self-explanatory through the excellent web tools provided. The price is right for the excellent features offered.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have called support several times for assistance and they have been prompt in replying. I can't say that for the competition! I've moved ALL my website (8 in total) over to my hosting over the last year.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Very friendly and very helpful customer service

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Margot Menna
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 08, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Excellent customer service and support. Sometimes follow up was required by email but I always got a response within 12 hours. And, it is a bonus that you can actually call someone! Some competitors don't answer their phones.
Cons
None!

Full Review

I have called support several times for assistance and they have been prompt in replying. I can't say that for the competition! I've moved ALL my website (8 in total) over to my hosting over the last year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I've had domain transfer questions, shopping cart questions, timing questions and invoicing option questions... the support help and follow-up has always been prompt, accurate and friendly. I've asked for support help numerous times and the response and follow-up has always been excellent. The support staff understands that many of us have limited technical knowledge.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.0

Excellent Support

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Russ Tooley
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 08, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
I provide web services for myself and a number of friends. The mix of myhosting services has always given me the options necessary to do whatever the projects have required. Myhosting keeps the services up-to-date trouble free.
Cons
N/A

Full Review

I've had domain transfer questions, shopping cart questions, timing questions and invoicing option questions... the support help and follow-up has always been prompt, accurate and friendly. I've asked for support help numerous times and the response and follow-up has always been excellent. The support staff understands that many of us have limited technical knowledge.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Customer service has always been very friendly and easy to access, no long wait times, multiple ways to get to them and when there was a technical problem, they got the job done.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
8.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Reliable

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Willem van Schaik
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 04, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Couple of things. Service is very steady, reliable and "always up". Maybe not the fastest in the world, but with the low price, bang on when it comes to value for money. I guess that for me the most important thing is that after 15 years of hosting with many, many providers, myhosting is really, really stable. And that is very refreshing!!
Cons
I have multiple domains with myhosting. The fact that some are on the old system and some on the "cloud" is confusting the heck out of me.

Full Review

Customer service has always been very friendly and easy to access, no long wait times, multiple ways to get to them and when there was a technical problem, they got the job done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Have been a happy customer for many years - downtime has been limited to a day or two at most over those years.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
8.0
Price 
 
10.0

Seamless hosting

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Allen Lutins
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: August 03, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
Their hosting is so seamless that I have not required customer support in years.
Cons
-

Full Review

Have been a happy customer for many years - downtime has been limited to a day or two at most over those years.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I had a Linux web hosting account with MyHosting.com for several months and for each of those several months that were unable to get the appropriate permissions for Joomla to work properly. On several occasions they told me that they believed they fixed their permissions and the site would run okay, it didn't. It would take one week or more to get their technical support team to even address an issue. I had two different developers -- one of some very popular Joomla extensions, the other a developer of popular Joomla templates -- look at the account and they both told me that the web hosts server settings were the root of the problems.

I've managed some of the largest commercial sites on the web and have had several commercial websites of my own for more than a decade and never ran into a host as bad as MyHosting.com. As my business partner, a well known journalist and editor who has edited for a popular computer magazine, said it (posted it on Facebook actually), "This is the worst web host ever!"

I still host a simple html website with them and that runs fine.
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
1.0
Control Panel Features 
 
6.0
Customer Support 
 
1.0
Price 
 
5.0

An absolute nightmare for Joomla users. Beware!!!

Overall Rating: 3.3 out of 10
Reviewed by: Peter
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: more than 1 year
Reviewed on: June 07, 2011

Pros and Cons

Pros
None for Joomla users, there is no way this host could be worse. You can't run Joomla properly at MyHosting.com and the host knows it, yet still sells account.
Cons
You can't run Joomla properly at MyHosting.com and the host knows it, yet still promotes itself as being for Joomla. I've read other comments at Web hosting forums, and others have had the same nightmares. I only wish I found this info before I started a Linux account for Joomla.

Full Review

I had a Linux web hosting account with MyHosting.com for several months and for each of those several months that were unable to get the appropriate permissions for Joomla to work properly. On several occasions they told me that they believed they fixed their permissions and the site would run okay, it didn't. It would take one week or more to get their technical support team to even address an issue. I had two different developers -- one of some very popular Joomla extensions, the other a developer of popular Joomla templates -- look at the account and they both told me that the web hosts server settings were the root of the problems.

I've managed some of the largest commercial sites on the web and have had several commercial websites of my own for more than a decade and never ran into a host as bad as MyHosting.com. As my business partner, a well known journalist and editor who has edited for a popular computer magazine, said it (posted it on Facebook actually), "This is the worst web host ever!"

I still host a simple html website with them and that runs fine.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Hosting Plan Features

Disk Space:
Unlimited
Data Transfer:
Unlimited
Refund Policy:
30 Day
Domains in Plan:
Unlimited
Price:
$4.84
Edit DNS Zone File:
Yes
Control Panel:
Plesk
Datacenter Locations:

Joomla Features

1 Click Installers:
Yes
Fantastico:
No
Ion Cube Support:
Yes

MySQL Features

MySQL Databases:
3
phpMyAdmin:
No

Support Options

Email / Help Desk:
Yes
Phone Support:
Yes
Member Forum:
Yes
Live Chat:
Yes

Company Details

Company Headquarters:
Toronto, Canada
First Year in Business:
1997
Number of Employees:
60+

Notable Features:

  • Excellent Support: Under 2 min phone response
  • 100% Uptime Guarantee: Clustered Servers w/ NAS backend
  • Top Rated Email Spam and Virus Protection: Google Postini
  • Microsoft Exchange based Outlook Webmail
  • Unlimited domains, space and bandwidth starting at $4.84/mo

Company Highlights:

With 15 years of hosting experience, Myhosting is a veteran in website hosting. They specialize in hosting that demands a lot from servers. They have plans for shared servers, business hosting, and VPS hosting.

View All myhosting Prices & Plans

About MyHosting:

Myhosting.com is provides is one of the leading hosting services. Their goal is to provide superior, affordable and reliable hosting services to their customers. They currently have over 50,000 customers in over 170 countries. Founded in 1997, they have been around for almost 14 years. This is a lot longer than a lot of other hosting companies.

Headquartered in Toronto, Canada, they have more than 60 employees. Data centers are located in Toronto, Cananda and Rochester, New York.

MyHosting Plans and Features:

Basic Plan - $4.84 Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth

Premium - $9.34 Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth, Dedicated IP, More Exchange Email Accounts

Professional - $18.71 Unlimited Storage and Bandwidth, SSL Key for eCommerce, 5 FTP Users

MyHosting Environment:

They use Plesk control panel. In this area you can configure your account including your email addresses, FTP, website files, or additional software like joomla and other web applications.

MyHosting Tech Support:

Getting support with MyHosting is easy you can call them any time (24/7) at 1-866-289-5091 (US & Canada). You can also reach them on Chat or Email. They also offer community support through the wiki, forums, FAQs, and blog.

Photos

My Hosting
View All myhosting Prices & Plans

HostGator Coupon

siteground votebesthost 2015