Best Joomla Host

logo

SiteGround Review http://www.joomlahostingreviews.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/300x225s/78/70/81/siteground-logo-300x225-30-1372183800.png

$3.95

Expert Rating: 9.6 User Rating: 9.0

Review by Steven Johnson
Written: June 14, 2013
Updated: July 05, 2013
 
Write Review

ProsSiteGround has become the best host for Joomla and almost any other CMS you can think of. The servers are fast, tech support is excellent and they have many features you will not find with other hosting companies.

ConsNot any yet

Bottom LineSiteGround is an excellent choice, they provide a great service at a great price. We see the most positive reviews from experts in the Joomla community. If you are familiar with Joomla, SiteGround will make a great new home for you site.

GO

Editor review

Signup and Setup
Signup was easy and took less than 5 minutes. At the end of the registration process you have to be careful which plan options you select. When we reached the bottom of the page there was a premium support option which we left checked and it didn't raise our price at all (free for 3 months).

There were other options like Domain Privacy, Daily Backup, HackAlert Monitoring which will significantly raise the price of the plan over several months. It's nice having access to these options, but be careful before you purchase your plan and make sure you are getting only what you need.

Once signed up you will receive emails with all the account and login info. A customer service representative called to ensure everything went well and and we were happy with the service so far.

Installing Joomla
Installing Joomla was trouble free. We installed our site using an akeeba backup restore. If you need a new Joomla site several options are available, including Softacoulous and installing Joomla from scratch.

SiteGround uses cPanel and 99% of all Joomla extensions work without issue on cPanel servers. File permissions are correctly configured. Developers test on will are sure to test for this type of configuration unlike Joomla on Windows or Joomla on the plesk control panel.

For those not familiar with setting up Joomla manually, SiteGround provides it's own set of tutorials. The easiest way is Softaculous, a 3rd party one-click installer. It is found in the cPanel control panel and allows you to set up Joomla very quickly.

Running Joomla
With Siteground’s server setup we did not make any php or file permission changes everything worked correctly right 'out of the box'. This saves quite a bit of time during the initial setup, as well as day to day operation and maintenance.

We have not experienced any server issues when upgrading the Joomla core or any of our extensions.

Speed/Uptime
Joomla pages are very fast and the site load quickly. Navigating around in the backend administrator interface is smooth and without any lag.

Our speed monitoring services confirm that the servers are fast 24 hours a day. We created a homepage with thousands of words on it and several web compressed images. This page loads in 800ms to 1,000ms. These are respectable times for not having caching or any other joomla optimizations.

When it comes to uptime, it has been near perfect. The site is consistently available with almost zero downtime. In a couple of cases we broke the site when testing Javascript and CSS optimization plugins.

Support
We tested support with a couple of basic questions. They replied very quickly with answers that resolved the issue.

We even had one more fairly advanced issue, we had added a 3rd Party Content Delivery Network (CDN) to a site and we were seeing issues in a couple parts of the world. After some basic troubleshooting we were able to determine the issue was not with SiteGround but the 3rd Party CDN. Even though it was not their issue SiteGround worked with us to get it resolved.

Conclusion
Installing Joomla was a piece of cake. With knowledge of using cPanel's file manager and MySQL Databases, we were able to do a clean install of Joomla within minutes of sign up. SiteGround has excellent uptime and speed.

The prices are very competitive with excellent technical support. They are a huge supporter of the Joomla community.

We are very pleased with SiteGround and will continue to host sites with them and recommend them to our web design clients.
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
9.5
Control Panel Features 
 
9.5
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.5

The Best Joomla Host

Reviewed by: Steven Johnson
Experience Level: Joomla Professional
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: June 24, 2013

Review Summary:

SiteGround is one of the best hosts for Joomla and other open source CMS websites. When clients and friends ask for Joomla Hosting recommendations, SiteGround is at the top of the list.

Their servers are fast, reliable, with many custom add ons not available at other hosting companies. Tech support is quick and knowledgable and able answer any questions or troubleshoot any configuration issues.

We continue to host more and more of our clients and personal sites with SiteGround.

Service has really improved over the past few years. When SiteGround started 10 years ago they were difficult to reach and support was almost non existent, about 3 years ago in 2010 we noticed a distinct improvement in server quality and tech support.

SiteGround is a big Joomla supporter and sponsor. If you attend any Joomla days you will most likely notice that SiteGround is a sponsor.

We host several personal and client sites and have found the site speed / uptime / and tech support to be fast and efficient. We consistently see positive user reviews from customers who a very pleased with the fast and ‘above and beyond’ tech support.

SiteGround was established in 2004 and has grown into a full featured hosting company. leading the way in hosting innovation. If you are looking for a new or different host, SiteGround is an great option.

Pros and Cons

Pros
Very Knowledgeable Support Staff
Excellent Prices
Joomla installs without issue
Free Joomla templates
Memcached available for all hosting plans
Helpful knowledge-base and tutorials

Full Review

Signup and Setup
Signup was easy and took less than 5 minutes. At the end of the registration process you have to be careful which plan options you select. When we reached the bottom of the page there was a premium support option which we left checked and it didn't raise our price at all (free for 3 months).

There were other options like Domain Privacy, Daily Backup, HackAlert Monitoring which will significantly raise the price of the plan over several months. It's nice having access to these options, but be careful before you purchase your plan and make sure you are getting only what you need.

Once signed up you will receive emails with all the account and login info. A customer service representative called to ensure everything went well and and we were happy with the service so far.

Installing Joomla
Installing Joomla was trouble free. We installed our site using an akeeba backup restore. If you need a new Joomla site several options are available, including Softacoulous and installing Joomla from scratch.

SiteGround uses cPanel and 99% of all Joomla extensions work without issue on cPanel servers. File permissions are correctly configured. Developers test on will are sure to test for this type of configuration unlike Joomla on Windows or Joomla on the plesk control panel.

For those not familiar with setting up Joomla manually, SiteGround provides it's own set of tutorials. The easiest way is Softaculous, a 3rd party one-click installer. It is found in the cPanel control panel and allows you to set up Joomla very quickly.

Running Joomla
With Siteground’s server setup we did not make any php or file permission changes everything worked correctly right 'out of the box'. This saves quite a bit of time during the initial setup, as well as day to day operation and maintenance.

We have not experienced any server issues when upgrading the Joomla core or any of our extensions.

Speed/Uptime
Joomla pages are very fast and the site load quickly. Navigating around in the backend administrator interface is smooth and without any lag.

Our speed monitoring services confirm that the servers are fast 24 hours a day. We created a homepage with thousands of words on it and several web compressed images. This page loads in 800ms to 1,000ms. These are respectable times for not having caching or any other joomla optimizations.

When it comes to uptime, it has been near perfect. The site is consistently available with almost zero downtime. In a couple of cases we broke the site when testing Javascript and CSS optimization plugins.

Support
We tested support with a couple of basic questions. They replied very quickly with answers that resolved the issue.

We even had one more fairly advanced issue, we had added a 3rd Party Content Delivery Network (CDN) to a site and we were seeing issues in a couple parts of the world. After some basic troubleshooting we were able to determine the issue was not with SiteGround but the 3rd Party CDN. Even though it was not their issue SiteGround worked with us to get it resolved.

Conclusion
Installing Joomla was a piece of cake. With knowledge of using cPanel's file manager and MySQL Databases, we were able to do a clean install of Joomla within minutes of sign up. SiteGround has excellent uptime and speed.

The prices are very competitive with excellent technical support. They are a huge supporter of the Joomla community.

We are very pleased with SiteGround and will continue to host sites with them and recommend them to our web design clients.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Learn More at SiteGround

User reviews View all user reviews

Average user rating from: 60 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
9.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
9.0  (59)
Control Panel Features 
 
9.2  (59)
Customer Support 
 
9.1  (60)
Price 
 
8.7  (59)
Ratings (the higher the better)
  • Site Speed & Uptime
    How fast and how much time are there servers up?
  • Control Panel Features
    Is the control panel easy to navigate? How useful are the features provided?
  • Customer Support
    How responsive and quick is Customer Support?
  • Price
    In regards to the money spent each month how well is your money spent?
Overview
Pros and Cons
Comments
Please enter the security code.
Due to their clean and easy site, very informative help section, a super duper prompt support, I am moving all my sites from Godaddy to here. I just love this hosting solution.
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.0

Siteground should be called SiteHaven

Overall Rating: 9.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: Wadih Saghieh
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: A month or less
Reviewed on: April 06, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
I am new at Siteground but one thing I know is that their support is awesome!
Cons
So far did not see any.

Full Review

Due to their clean and easy site, very informative help section, a super duper prompt support, I am moving all my sites from Godaddy to here. I just love this hosting solution.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just fantastic support and customer care. Amazingly fast and friendly service. Highly recommended.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Simply The Best

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Jonny
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: 3 months to 1 year
Reviewed on: March 19, 2014

Pros and Cons

Cons
Absolutely none :)

Full Review

Just fantastic support and customer care. Amazingly fast and friendly service. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Over all, no one is perfect we are all humans but on the human scale i could say they are perfect LOL.
I would strongly recommend Siteground anytime, anywhere to anyone.
Overall rating 
 
9.4
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
8.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.5

anytime, anywhere to anyone

Overall Rating: 9.4 out of 10
Reviewed by: Doh D Daiga
Experience Level: Joomla Expert
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: February 28, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
I just love Siteground. I have been with them since 2004. At that time i was student and new webmaster working only in HTML with some pure PHP and had a couple of sites to host. They offered my the reseller packages which I tried with great pleasure.

At the same time I hosted other sites with Godaddy, A+hosting, Bluehost and two others I can't remember. What kept me at Siteground was their customer service but Godaddy was good at that too. I was finally hooked by Siteground's simplistic approach. I found the others too business minded and trying to always con you into buying more and more fetures (some of which were not necessary). Most interestingly when i moved to Joomla the techs at Siteground assisted me alot (at the time, most host avoided tech support when it came to Joomla).

After my studies in the USA i moved back to Africa in 2010 and in spite of the painfully slow internet services here is still get to manage a couple of sites. Again, Siteground's customer service just blows me away, very customer oriented and very prompt - they tell you what you need to know and are not only concerned about the bill.

Finally any new client I get I always get them to switch to Siteground, that is how much i love their service.

Cons
I have a few issues with their web mail, Siteground does not use Mbox mails and they don't offer enough space whereas clients NEED more space and use mails services volumes more than a few years ago. Some host offer separate mail packages (I hope Siteground does that someday). The only option to increase your mail storage is to upgrade to a semi-dedicated server (what if my client does not need all that power)

Also a few bugs with their caching system but i know they will resolve that soon enough.

Full Review

Over all, no one is perfect we are all humans but on the human scale i could say they are perfect LOL.
I would strongly recommend Siteground anytime, anywhere to anyone.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Great support, thank you.
Overall rating 
 
9.6
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
8.5

Fantastic support

Overall Rating: 9.6 out of 10
Reviewed by: JoB
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: A month or less
Reviewed on: February 25, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
I am a bit of a techie virgin and have been battling to get my website onto wordpress and siteground's livechat has been unfailingly quick, efficient and friendly. Really excellent service - I can't recommend it enough.

Full Review

Great support, thank you.

Was this review helpful to you? 
no wait to talk to an associate, everyone are very polite. i like them.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Great Services

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Nelson
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: February 17, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
no wait to talk to an associate.
Speed on services.
Cons
none

Full Review

no wait to talk to an associate, everyone are very polite. i like them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have moved from Bluehost to Siteground and never looked back nor regretted my decision!
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
9.5
Control Panel Features 
 
9.5
Customer Support 
 
9.5
Price 
 
9.5

Great hosting company with outstanding services an

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Amor
Experience Level: Joomla Professional
Customer for: 3 months to 1 year
Reviewed on: February 06, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
Great pricing
The fasted phone, chat and ticket response time
Excellent knowledge in Joomla, WordPress and more
Excellent optimization tools
Fast server
Highest uptime
Cons
None really!

Full Review

I have moved from Bluehost to Siteground and never looked back nor regretted my decision!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Fantastic customer service and support, great hosting for my new business and lots of support from the Siteground team. Would recommend to anyone else.
Overall rating 
 
9.5
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
9.0
Control Panel Features 
 
9.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Massively pleased and actually surprised at good s

Overall Rating: 9.5 out of 10
Reviewed by: Carrie
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: 3 months to 1 year
Reviewed on: February 04, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
Fantastic customer support, I logged a ticket and within 5 minutes it had been answered and action taken. Really cannot fault - better service than I expected.
Cons
No cons so far, really pleased. The customer service makes it a service I would renew with.

Full Review

Fantastic customer service and support, great hosting for my new business and lots of support from the Siteground team. Would recommend to anyone else.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Online support very efficient. Excellent attention. They solve any problem very fast.
Overall rating 
 
10.0
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
10.0

Excellent live support

Overall Rating: 10.0 out of 10
Reviewed by: Dieggo Mendoza
Experience Level: Joomla Intermediate User
Customer for: more than 3 years
Reviewed on: January 15, 2014

Pros and Cons

Pros
Online Live Support, Efficient, Very Fast

Full Review

Online support very efficient. Excellent attention. They solve any problem very fast.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I always get a response within 10 min or less! Love that--to be able to solve my issues without a long wait! Excellent customer service and very polite.
Overall rating 
 
9.9
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
10.0
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.5

Great Tech Support

Overall Rating: 9.9 out of 10
Reviewed by: Rebecca Lambert
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: A month or less
Reviewed on: October 11, 2013

Pros and Cons

Pros
Fast response.
Excellent customer service.
Very polite.

Full Review

I always get a response within 10 min or less! Love that--to be able to solve my issues without a long wait! Excellent customer service and very polite.

Was this review helpful to you? 
I have hosted with Bluehost and Fatcow, and SiteGround is by far the better solution. Way better customer support then either of the previously listed.
Overall rating 
 
9.8
Site Speed & Uptime 
 
10.0
Control Panel Features 
 
9.5
Customer Support 
 
10.0
Price 
 
9.5

Best Domain Hosting Out There!

Overall Rating: 9.8 out of 10
Reviewed by: Andrew Williams
Experience Level: Joomla Beginner
Customer for: A month or less
Reviewed on: September 25, 2013

Pros and Cons

Pros
Excellent customer service, fast response times, fast email services!
Cons
A lot of hidden cost features. If you want to maximize on their features, there are a lot of cost added to get them all. I'm fine with the basics, but it's just one of those things.

Full Review

I have hosted with Bluehost and Fatcow, and SiteGround is by far the better solution. Way better customer support then either of the previously listed.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
View all user reviews
 

Hosting Plan Features

Disk Space:
10 GB
Data Transfer:
Unlimited
Refund Policy:
30 Day
Domains in Plan:
1
Domain Registration:
Free
Price:
$3.95
Edit DNS Zone File:
Yes
Control Panel:
cPanel

Joomla Features

1 Click Installers:
Yes
Fantastico:
Yes
Ion Cube Support:
Yes

MySQL Features

MySQL Databases:
Unlimited
phpMyAdmin:
Yes

Support Options

Email / Help Desk:
Yes
Phone Support:
Yes
Member Forum:
Yes
Live Chat:
Yes

Company Details

First Year in Business:
2004

Notable Features:

  • Fast Reliable Servers
  • Live Chat Customer Support
  • Super Cacher to make your site faster
  • Wide Range of Plans and Excellent Prices
  • Huge Joomla Community Supporter

Company Highlights:

Siteground is well known for it's Joomla specific features. Started in 2003 by a group of IT guys. 10 years later they have over 1100 servers spread out in 4 different locations around the world

View All SiteGround Prices & Plans

About SiteGround

SiteGround was established in August of 2003 in New York by a group of IT professionals. Though the company is relatively new, its customer-sensitive policies have brought it to the forefront of web hosting. SiteGround’s datacenter is located in Houston, Texas where its servers host over 150,000 sites. They also have offices in the United States and Europe.

SiteGround shared hosting, virtual private servers, and reseller packages. The company has received many distinctions including the ‘Best Joomla Host’ award. SiteGround accredits their success to “[their] profound technical expertise and unmatched quality of [their] customer care.”

Plans and Features

At $6.95 per month, SiteGround’s yearly hosting plan brings you a very enticing row of features starting with free setup and even a free domain name! You can have unlimited subdomains and parked websites pointing to your site. At a nominal fee, you can also host up to 6 add-on domains on your account.

Both storage and bandwidth are unlimited. FTP and email accounts are unlimited along with unlimited MySQL/Postgre databases. A wide range of server-side features are provided by SiteGround including support for PHP, Perl, Python, and Zend Optimizer. In addition, a whole host of free scripts and software are available to you including absolutely free installation of Mambo, Joomla, OSCommerce, phpBB, WordPress, phpNuke, Moodle, Drupal, MediaWiki, and even a line of ready-made CGI scripts.

Hosting Environment

Your account can be administered through the standard version of cPanel that SiteGround provides. From this panel, you can install scripts through Fantastico, manage your files, configure email addresses, restrict access to your site with IP filtering, edit MIME types and Apache handlers, etc. You will also find two of best industry standard database management software readily available phpMyAdmin and phpPgAdmin.

Joomla

Having received the 'Best Joomla Host' award, SiteGround is widely acclaimed for its Joomla-specific features. They also have a frequently updated section of attractive Joomla templates that would probably cost you a fortune elsewhere but just for being a SiteGoround customer, you get them free.

Tech Support

SiteGround Phone Tech Support: 1-866-605-2484

SiteGround has an excellent tech support team who known a lot about Joomla. You can contact support through one of three ways: email, a 24/7 hotline or live chat. SiteGround has built a reputation for itself for being one of the very few hosting companies in existence that can solve even the biggest of technical issues in minutes!

The phone and chat support solves level 1 issues that do no require actively accessing or altering customer files or databases. Otherwise the problem is pushed to the helpdesk where they will investigate the problem and resolve it.

Conclusion

You’ve got to admit it; for a hosting provider that’s still a fledgling, SiteGround has proven to be a prodigy. Their ultra-cheap pricing and the brilliant host of features that come with it leave very little to be desired. Plus, if you’re going to host a Joomla site, anybody can tell you that SiteGround is a name to be feared whenever Joomla hosting is brought up. Unlike many other one-hit-wonder companies that entice you with just free templates and installation, SiteGround actually backs you with a whole ton of technical knowledge and experience. All said, your Joomla site could be in no better hands than in SiteGround’s.

Photos

SiteGround Company Photo
Siteground at the first Joomla World Conference
SiteGround Softaculous
SiteGround cPanel
SiteGround Homepage
SiteGround Support Page
View All SiteGround Prices & Plans